facebook tracker International Council of Air Shows International Council of Air Shows
International Council of Air Shows

Wagstaff Receives Scholl Award

December 22nd, 2023

Air show performer Patty Wagstaff was named the 2023 recipient of the Art Scholl Memorial Showmanship Award last Thursday. Presented each year by ICAS to recognize excellence in air show entertainment and showmanship, the award is intended to exemplify the qualities of showmanship demonstrated by Art Scholl throughout his long career as an air show performer.


During the presentation ceremony on December 7 in Las Vegas, Wagstaff was recognized for three decades of air show excellence, combining precision aerobatic maneuvers and a recognizable image that made her among the best and most well-known performers of her generation. Already an inductee into the ICAS Foundation Air Show Hall of Fame, the International Aerobatic Club Hall of Fame, and the National Aviation Hall of Fame, she is a three-time U.S. National Aerobatic Champion and a six-time member of the U.S. National Aerobatic Team. But her greatest and most enduring legacy will always be the millions that she entertained and inspired with her unique brand of low-level, world-class, awe-inspiring aerobatics.


Wagstaff becomes the 38th recipient of the Scholl Award, joining perhaps the air show community’s most exclusive club with air show legends Bob Hoover, Gene Soucy, Leo Loudenslager, Les Shockley, Jimmy Franklin, John Mohr, French Connection Air Shows, and the Canadian Forces Snowbirds.


Watch the Art Scholl Memorial Showmanship Award presentation here: https://youtu.be/eGZeaCBn4zU