facebook tracker International Council of Air Shows International Council of Air Shows
International Council of Air Shows

ICAS Foundation Announces 2019 Inductees into Air Show Hall of Fame

October 29th, 2019

The International Council of Air Shows Foundation will induct wingwalker Teresa Stokes, air boss Wayne Boggs and aircraft designer/builder Steve Wolf into the Air Show Hall of Fame on Thursday, December 12, according to ICAS Foundation Hall of Fame Selection Committee Chair Dale Drumright. 

After just two weeks of practice, Teresa Stokes began her wingwalking career in 1988. Since then, she has become widely known as among the world’s finest practitioners of this unusual and elegant art form. Over three decades, she has used a unique blend of grace, artistry and athleticism to entertain and inspire millions of air show fans throughout the United States and Canada. 

For nearly 30 years, Wayne Boggs has helped to define what it means to be an effective air show air boss in North America. In addition to providing air boss services at shows from Key West to Oshkosh and from New York City to southern California, Boggs has helped to teach future generations of air bosses through his work as an ICAS instructor. 

An accomplished and highly-respected aerobatic pilot and air show performer in his own right, Steve Wolf is best known for the work he has done to build and modify aircraft to make them even better aerobatically. From Delmar Benjamin’s Gee-Bee R-2 and Jim Wright’s Hughes H-1 replicas to Jimmy Franklin’s 600hp Waco biplane and Bobby Younkin’s Samson to Sean Tucker’s innovative biplane wings and Kyle Franklin’s Demon-1 “Dracula,” Wolf has been at the forefront of innovative air show aircraft design for nearly 35 years. 

Stokes, Boggs and Wolf become the 68th, 69th and 70th inductees into the prestigious ICAS Foundation Air Show Hall of Fame and join an exclusive fraternity of air show legends that includes Bob Hoover, Art Scholl, Paul Poberezny, Leo Loudenslager, Duane Cole, Curtis Pitts, Charlie Hillard, John Mohr, Gene Soucy and Jimmy Franklin.