facebook tracker International Council of Air Shows International Council of Air Shows
International Council of Air Shows

Hoover to be Honored with Wright Brothers Trophy

September 25th, 2014
The National Aeronautic Association announced today that Robert A. "Bob" Hoover will be the 2014 recipient of the prestigious Wright Brothers Memorial Trophy. The trophy is awarded annually to a living American for, "...significant public service of enduring value to aviation in the United States." Past recipients of the Wright Brothers Trophy include Charles Lindbergh, Neil Armstrong, Jimmy Doolittle, John Glenn, Herb Kelleher, and Paul Poberezny. Hoover will be presented with the award at a black-tie event in Washington, DC on the evening of Friday, December 12. An icon of the aviation community who spent much of his career as an active air show performer, Hoover is considered one of the greatest pilots in history. Indeed, it was Bob's exceptional skill and precision as the world's greatest air show pilot that made him an inspiration and example to pilots around the world. In over 50 years of air show performing, he is believed to have performed in more air shows, in more types of aircraft, in more countries, and before more spectators than any other pilot in the history of aviation.